The End Game of Gardening

A persimmon. Rosemary toast. Tea with honey. Handmade crockery. This is all totally doable.
A persimmon. Rosemary toast. Tea with honey. Handmade crockery. This is all totally doable.

It’s the Simple Pleasures

This morning, I took a break from stacking wood to make myself a snack. I pulled a persimmon out of the fridge, two slices of rosemary toast from the oven, and green tea with honey from the microwave. As I sat at our kitchen table in the winter morning sun it occurred to me that none of the things I ate came from our homestead yard or garden, but they could, and I know this is a big part of why I garden.

Some day in the future, our 3 persimmon trees will bear fruit from November to February and my family will be able to stroll out into the yard and pick them fresh. Right now, persimmons are $1.69 each at the grocer. We could today make our own rosemary bread, not with our own flour, but certainly with plenty of dried sprigs from the 4 varieties of rosemary growing here. This spring we’ll have raspberry, lemon balm, and birch leaves aplenty which we could dry and make teas from. Soon, I hope, we’ll have a few hives to supply the most local, flower-fed bee honey available, and my wife is already keeping us well-stocked in handmade mugs.

To know that I’m taking steps most every day to make this a reality, and to make other fresh meals and seasonal treats real for family, friends, and neighbors pleases me. And that’s the end game of all my gardening.

Gardening is Good!
~Ben

Leave a Reply

