A Drop in the Rain Barrel

A Small Success

Nothing fancy, but no less effective. We just got 96 gallons without lifting a finger.
Nothing fancy, but no less effective. We just got 96 gallons without lifting a finger.

We just enjoyed about 16 hours of rain and it couldn’t have come at a better time. I’d just about emptied our “rain barrels” in recent weeks watering in all the new trees, vines, and bushes I’ve planted (72!). Now I have 96 gallons of fresh, nitrogen-rich rain water ready for several weeks of gardening needs.

Our rain barrel “system” is pretty simple: I placed cheap trash cans under the spots where there are massive leaks in our gutters and when it rains they fill up fast. I take the lids off when it rains. I put the lids back on when they’re full or when it stops raining, whichever come first. To water plants, I dunk our watering can into a barrel, fill it up and carry it to the plants. Repeat as necessary.

This year I could refine things a bit more. I could formally attach the rain barrels to our downspouts. Or I could elevate the barrels a foot or so and attach spigots for a gravity-fed hose system. But what I have right now works just fine.

I like carrying the water back and forth across the yard. Maybe it’s tedious but it gives me time to think and to observe, and it helps me log a bunch of steps on my fitness tracker!

It’s nothing big, but all the small things add up to the time of my life in the garden.
~Ben

Leave a Reply

