I Can’t Always Be Out in the Garden Every Day, but Sometimes Nature Comes to Me Instead

Taxidermied Great Blue Heron from the natural history collection at the Danville Science Center. This is a BIG, beautiful bird.
Taxidermied Great Blue Heron from the natural history collection at the Danville Science Center. This is a BIG, beautiful bird.

And that’s pretty great, too

Driving to work this morning I passed a farm pond beside the highway and wading in it was a huge, beautiful Great Blue Heron. I recognized it instantly since there’s one in the natural history collection at work and I see it almost every day. The taxidermied one has nothing on the living being, but at least it gives you some idea of the bird.

And then on the way home after work, several yards ahead of me a sleek grey fox ran full speed across both lanes of the highway and the median to disappear in the grasses on the far side. I’d never seen one of those IRL either.

I’m glad to know these creatures are still out there. I wish it wasn’t quite so hard on them, but I take some solace in my own efforts to preserve the larger environment and build habitat on my property.

And while I dearly love my little in-town garden, I wish I had a farm to put a pond on and receive visits from Great Blue Herons and sleek grey foxes.

Gardening is Good!
~Ben

Leave a comment